26 parties secure seats at Thailand’s lower house

Thailand’s Election Commission (EC) announced on May 8 the list of 149 member of parliaments (MPs), with 26 political parties entering the House of Representatives of the National Assembly following the March 24 general election.
Ballots counted in Narithiwat, Thailand (Photo: AFP/VNA)
Ballots counted in Narithiwat, Thailand (Photo: AFP/VNA)

With 50 congressmen in the lower house, Future Forward scored the highest number of party-list seats, followed by Democrat Party with 19, one seat more than Palang Pracharath. 

Bhumjaithai came fourth as it bagged 12 seats while Pheu Thai received none as the number of its constituency MPs exceeded its share of popular vote.

The EC announced on May 7 the list the 349 MPs with only one short of a total of 350 MPs in constituency mode as the winning candidate from leading opposition Pheu Thai Party in Chiang Mai's Constituency 8 has been found guilty of bribery, thus leading to a by-election to be held on May 26.

The House of Representative of Thailand's national assembly consists of 350 constituency-based MPs and 150 party-list MPs.

The total 500 MPs, together with 250 senators selected by the ruling National Council for Peace and Order led by current Prime Minister Prayut Chan-o-cha, would elect a new prime minister of Thailand.

Other news